

## Press release

9 March 2018, Solna

## Nomination Committee proposals regarding election of the Board

In advance of the BillerudKorsnäs AB (publ) ("BillerudKorsnäs") Annual General Meeting of shareholders to be held on Tuesday 15 May 2018, the BillerudKorsnäs nomination committee proposes the re-election of Andrea Gisle Joosen, Bengt Hammar, Lennart Holm, Michael M.F. Kaufmann, Kristina Schauman and Victoria Van Camp as members of the Board, and the election of Tobias Auchli and Jan Åström as new members of the Board. The nomination committee also proposes the re-election of Lennart Holm as chairman of the Board and Michael M.F. Kaufmann as vice chairman of the Board. Mikael Hellberg has decided not to seek re-election.

Tobias Auchli is Chairman and CEO of Verlumenda SA, providing advisory services in strategy, innovation, sustainable growth, digital transformation and operational improvements. Prior to his current position, Tobias spent 18 years at senior executive and general management roles in the Nestlé group, with a focus on e.g. transformation, innovation and R&D. Tobias also coaches IMD Business School MBA's in innovation and entrepreneurship. Tobias is a Swiss national and graduated with a Master in International Management, Marketing and Finance from the University of St. Gallen (HSG).

Jan Åström currently holds the position as President and CEO of Ahlstrom Munksjö Oyj, a position that he has held since 2008 and from which he is retiring in April 2018. Prior to joining Ahlstrom Munksjö Oyj, Jan was President and CEO of SCA AB and of Modo Paper AB. Together with other earlier executive and general management positions, Jan has close to 40 years of experience from the pulp and paper industry. Jan is a Swedish national and graduated with a Master of Science in Chemical Engineering from KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm.

Michael M.F. Kaufmann, chairman of the nomination committee, commented: "The nomination committee is very pleased to have recruited Tobias Auchli and Jan Åström as candidates to the BillerudKorsnäs Board. Tobias and Jan are two experienced professionals with highly complementary expertise. Tobias will bring valuable insights from the consumer goods industry, with deep expertise in international R&D, innovation and academia, as well as strategic and operational leadership. Jan is a highly respected and very experienced business executive in the Swedish pulp and paper industry, and will bring both strategic and operational expertise from the industry. The nomination committee is confident that the proposed new members will complement the Board's expertise across a variety of areas considering their longstanding and international careers."

Michael M.F. Kaufmann added: "On behalf of the nomination committee, I would also like to take this opportunity to thank Mikael Hellberg for serving on the BillerudKorsnäs Board for many years and for his contribution in building the new BillerudKorsnäs."

• • • • •



The nomination committee in BillerudKorsnäs comprises Michael M.F. Kaufmann, appointed by Frapag Beteiligungsholding AG, Tomas Risbecker, appointed by AMF Försäkring & Fonder, Lennart Francke, appointed by Swedbank Robur fonder and Thomas Wuolikainen, appointed by Fjärde APfonden. The nomination committee's complete proposals will be presented in the convening notice for BillerudKorsnäs' Annual General Meeting 2018.

## For further information, please contact:

Andreas Mattsson, General Counsel +46 72 585 16 78, andreas.mattsson@billerudkorsnas.com